Close this search box.

Queen Elizabeth II’s Platinum Jubilee Medal Recipients Announced

The Queen Elizabeth II’s Platinum Jubilee Medal is a commemorative medal in honour of the 70th anniversary of Her late Majesty’s accession to the Throne as Queen of Canada. The medal is being awarded to 7,000 Albertans throughout 2022 in recognition of significant contributions to the province.

The Writers’ Guild of Alberta has selected the following nominees from the Alberta literary community to receive the medal, in recognition of their exceptional impact and service in advancing Alberta writing:

Derek Beaulieu

Derek Beaulieu not only constitutes one of the most innovative of all authors in Canada, but he has committed himself to service on behalf of others, providing leadership in the arts throughout his career and promoting the poetic merits of Canada to audiences around the world.

Ali Bryan

Ali Bryan has experienced meteoric growth in her writing career while demonstrating untiring advocacy for emerging writers. Not only does she push other writers to produce their best possible work, Ali goes the extra mile, sharing her marketing smarts with those who need help promoting their work.

Marilyn Dumont

As a poet articulating the Métis experience, as a mentor and teacher, Marilyn Dumont has played a pivotal role in the flowering of Indigenous literature in Alberta and Canada as a whole, laying the foundation for new generations of Indigenous authors who are now being recognized across Canada.

Hazel Hutchins

Hazel Hutchins has long been a pillar of the Albertan children’s literature community. She has crafted dozens of enthralling stories for children, has been generous with her feedback and support to her fellow scribes, and has encouraged many children to read and write.

Carol Holmes

Carol Holmes became Executive Director of the Writers’ Guild of Alberta in a time of turmoil. Her dedication over the next 14 years ensured writers thrived in Alberta even during pandemic times. Carol advocated for and enabled hundreds if not thousands of writers reach success in their endeavours.

Heather Inglis

Heather Inglis works with writers and playwrights of all ages and stages of their career. Her unwavering desire to see writers tell new stories that reflect the landscape of our times is unparalleled. She has contributed to the writing, production, and publication of diverse new Albertan plays.

Micheline Maylor-Kovitz

Dr. Micheline Maylor-Kovitz is an extraordinary writer, educator, mentor, editor, and publisher. She is one of Canada’s preeminent poetry editors and publishers, offering and cultivating ground to give diverse voices expression and prominence.

JoAnn McCaig

JoAnn McCaig was instrumental in founding Freehand Books, and has built many other creative and innovative ways to support the literary community—as an English instructor and academic, a writer, a publisher, a book reviewer, a bookstore owner, and overall champion of the literary community.

Lisa Murphy Lamb

Lisa Murphy Lamb is a writer, arts champion, and educator who has built space and community for artists to have their voices heard. She is also an extraordinary mentor to young writers, giving them space and encouragement to find their creative voices.

Nisha Patel

Nisha Patel is a nationally-celebrated poet dedicated to her community. As a disabled queer woman of colour, a key part of her practice is centering voices outside of her own, pushing for the idea that marginalized authors like herself were not sole authorities, but part of complicated communities.

Pierrette Requier

Pierrette Requier is a bilingual Franco-Albertan poet, mentor, and literary community builder who has worked to create spaces for poets to share their work and to promote French language writing in Alberta’s literary scene.

Sharanpal Ruprai

Sharanpal Ruprai is a dynamic poet, educator, and community leader who shares her unique creative voice, and who has mentored other writers to do the same, especially young BIPOC voices. She has proactively raised awareness of programs to help writers and encouraged writers to access them.

Matthew Stepanic

Matthew Stepanic is a queer writer and literary community leader who has made an incredible contribution to the scene in a short amount of time, manifested most clearly in his co-founding of Glass Bookshop. His ongoing work diversifies Canadian literary communities as he brings up those around him.

Matthew Weigel

Matthew Weigel is a Denesuline and Métis poet and storyteller who regularly contributes as a young voice in the Indigenous arts community. His writing focuses on the oldest stories of this place, but he works to innovate how these stories are shared with future generations to shape the community.

Medal Presentations

We hope that you will join us on Wednesday, December 7 for the presentation of the medals during our Holiday Parties in Edmonton and Calgary:

WGA Edmonton Holiday Party & Queen’s Platinum Jubilee Medal Presentation

When: Wednesday, December 7. 6:30PM
Where: 9910 (Downstairs from The Common) 9910 109st NW. Edmonton*

Join us at 9910 for some food and drinks and holiday cheer! The event is free to attend and the food is on us. We will also be presenting the Queen’s Platinum Jubilee Medals to Alberta writers who have demonstrated significant contribution to Alberta’s literary community.

No RSVP necessary. All WGA members and their guests are welcome.

*Please note that this location is downstairs and is not wheelchair accessible*

Calgary Holiday Party and Queen’s Platinum Jubilee Medal Ceremony

Date: December 7 @ 6
Location: Rose & Crown (1503 4 St SW)
Please join us for the Writers’ Guild of Alberta’s Calgary Holiday Party on Wednesday, December 7th from 6:00PM at the Rose & Crown (3rd floor), located at 1503 4 St SW, Calgary, AB.
The evening will include the Queen’s Platinum Jubilee Medal ceremony.

Shopping cart0
There are no products in the cart!