Archive | AGM & Conference


2016 Alberta Literary Award Winners Announced

The Writers’ Guild of Alberta is pleased to reveal the winners of the 2016 Alberta Literary Awards. More than 120 attended the 2016 Alberta Literary Awards Wine and Cheese Gala, part of the Writers’ Guild of Alberta’s 2016 Calgary Conference, Creativity and Happiness. This celebration marked the 34th anniversary of the Alberta Literary Awards and brought together writers […]

Continue Reading
golden pen

2016 WGA Golden Pen Award Recipient

Supported by Aritha van Herk The WGA Golden Pen Award is presented to acknowledge the lifetime achievements of an outstanding Alberta writer. Past recipients have been Alice Major, George Melnyk, Fred Stenson, Aritha van Herk, Robert Kroetsch, Merna Summers, Myrna Kostash, Grant MacEwan, W.O. Mitchell, Rudy Wiebe and Betty Jane Hegerat. This year’s recipient is Greg Hollingshead. Greg Hollingshead has published […]

Continue Reading
Lulu...are you reading my thoughts again?

Greg Hollingshead: Golden Pens, Pilot Pens and Telepathic Communication

Happy Friday, Literary Intrepids! Have you heard award-winning Greg Hollingshead is the 2016 recipient of the WGA Golden Pen Award? Hurray to Greg and special pens! The Golden Pen Award acknowledges lifetime achievements of outstanding writers who’ve spent a significant portion of their writing life in Alberta and produced a distinguished body of work over a longstanding […]

Continue Reading

In Memory of Frances Hern

The WGA would like to express our sincere gratitude to the Friends of Frances, who are supporting the 2016 Jon Whyte Memorial Essay Award in memory of long-standing WGA member, Frances Hern. Frances passed away last September at the age of 64. She leaves behind a literary legacy that spans nonfiction, fiction, and poetry, including Engraved: Canadian Stories of World […]

Continue Reading

Alberta Literary Awards Wine and Cheese Gala

Saturday, June 4, 2016 MacDonald Hall, SAIT Campus, Calgary Doors: 7:30 pm Awards: 8:00 pm Attire: Semiformal Please join us during our conference weekend for a wine and cheese reception honouring excellence in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, and children’s literature produced in Alberta during the previous year. We will award literary prizes and we will have […]

Continue Reading

Conference 2016 Presenters

Marina Endicott Will Ferguson Richard Harrison Greg Hollingshead Naomi K. Lewis Paul Matwychuk Trever Rueger Julie Sedivy Marina Endicott Marina Endicott came to fiction late, after a career in theatre. Her new novel, Close to Hugh, was long-listed for the Giller Prize and named one of CBC’s Best Books of 2015. Her second, The Little […]

Continue Reading

Conference 2016 Accommodation

During the summer months, SAIT provides Short Term Accommodation for guests. They have a variety of rooms that range from Studios, Two-Bedrooms, Four-Bedrooms, and One-Bedroom + Living Room units. Each of the rooms are outfitted with a double extra-long bed, linens/towels/toiletries, private bathrooms, full sized refrigerators, microwaves, and range from kitchenettes to full kitchens (utensils […]

Continue Reading