Archive | AGM & Conference

Alberta Lit Awards Gala Ad

2017 Alberta Literary Awards Gala

Please join us for the 2017 Alberta Literary Awards Gala on Saturday, June 10, 2017! Time: Cocktails and mingling at 6:30 pm, Buffet dinner at 7:15 pm Place: Maple Leaf Room, Lister Centre, University of Alberta (11613 – 87 Avenue) Dress Code: semiformal/festive attire Tickets are $75 each and can be purchased here.   Our […]

Continue Reading 1

2016 Alberta Literary Award Winners Announced

The Writers’ Guild of Alberta is pleased to reveal the winners of the 2016 Alberta Literary Awards. More than 120 attended the 2016 Alberta Literary Awards Wine and Cheese Gala, part of the Writers’ Guild of Alberta’s 2016 Calgary Conference, Creativity and Happiness. This celebration marked the 34th anniversary of the Alberta Literary Awards and brought together writers […]

Continue Reading 1
golden pen

2016 WGA Golden Pen Award Recipient

Supported by Aritha van Herk The WGA Golden Pen Award is presented to acknowledge the lifetime achievements of an outstanding Alberta writer. Past recipients have been Alice Major, George Melnyk, Fred Stenson, Aritha van Herk, Robert Kroetsch, Merna Summers, Myrna Kostash, Grant MacEwan, W.O. Mitchell, Rudy Wiebe and Betty Jane Hegerat. This year’s recipient is Greg Hollingshead. Greg Hollingshead has published […]

Continue Reading 0

WGA Blog Post: Julie Sedivy on the Rocks, Richard Harrison Through the Looking Glass & Marina Endicott on a Boat!

Meet author, professor and former WGA President Julie ‘No Slouch’ Sedivy: Ph.D. in linguistics from the University of Rochester! Faculty at Brown University for twelve years! Has published more than thirty scientific articles on language and the mind, and blogs regularly for Nautilus, Psychology Today, Language Log, and Discover magazine! You may wish to read Julie’s […]

Continue Reading 1
Naomi K Lewis with Paulrus the sock (walrus) puppet

WGA Blog Post: Sock Puppets, Jellyfish Stings and Stellar Story Telling with Naomi K. Lewis (Fiction) and Trevor Rueger (Script)

Calgary-based Naomi K. Lewis is an accomplished author of fiction (both long and short), creative nonfiction, and has ghostwritten a bestselling memoir. We are thrilled that she will instruct Shaping the Story, a fiction intensive at our annual conference this Saturday. In keeping with our current blog theme of introducing you to the personal (and […]

Continue Reading 0
Lulu...are you reading my thoughts again?

Greg Hollingshead: Golden Pens, Pilot Pens and Telepathic Communication

Happy Friday, Literary Intrepids! Have you heard award-winning Greg Hollingshead is the 2016 recipient of the WGA Golden Pen Award? Hurray to Greg and special pens! The Golden Pen Award acknowledges lifetime achievements of outstanding writers who’ve spent a significant portion of their writing life in Alberta and produced a distinguished body of work over a longstanding […]

Continue Reading 0

In Memory of Frances Hern

The WGA would like to express our sincere gratitude to the Friends of Frances, who are supporting the 2016 Jon Whyte Memorial Essay Award in memory of long-standing WGA member, Frances Hern. Frances passed away last September at the age of 64. She leaves behind a literary legacy that spans nonfiction, fiction, and poetry, including Engraved: Canadian Stories of World […]

Continue Reading 0