Close this search box.

Winners of the 2024 Alberta Literary Awards Announced!

Winners of the 2024 Alberta Literary Awards Announced!

The Writers’ Guild of Alberta is pleased to announce the winners of the 2024 Alberta Literary Awards. This year’s award winners were announced at and in-person gala in Edmonton on June 8th.

The winner of the Robert Kroetsch City of Edmonton Book Prize was announced on May 1 as part of the Edmonton Arts Prizes. The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize winner will be announced at The Calgary Awards on June 12.

This celebration marked the 42nd anniversary of the Alberta Literary Awards and brought together writers from across Alberta. The Alberta Literary Awards were created by the Writers’ Guild of Alberta in 1982 to recognize excellence in writing by Alberta authors.

The Writers’ Guild of Alberta is the largest provincial writers’ organization in Canada and was formed in 1980 to provide a meeting ground and collective voice for the writers of the province. Our mission is to inspire, connect, support, encourage, and promote writers and writing, to safeguard the freedom to write and read, and to advocate for the well-being of writers.

For more information, please contact the Writers’ Guild of Alberta by email at [email protected].

Our juries deliberated on hundreds of submissions to select winners in the following categories. Finalists represent excellence in literary work written by Alberta authors and published or created in 2022-23.

The winners of the 2024 Alberta Literary Awards are:

The 2024 Alberta Literary Awards Winners

R. Ross Annett Award for Children’s Literature (Chapter Books) 
(Sponsored by Under the Arch Youth Foundation at The Calgary Foundation)

  • Dee Hahn – The Grave Thief (Puffin Canada)

Georges Bugnet Award for Fiction
(Sponsored by Scott Saxberg)

  • Jessica Johns – Bad Cree (HarperCollins)

Wilfrid Eggleston Award for Nonfiction

  • David Laurence Jones – New World Dreams (Heritage House)

Memoir Award
(Supported by Vivian Hansen)

  • Jennifer Bowering-Delisle – Micrographia (Gordon Hill Press)

Short Story Collection

  • Premee Mohamed – No one will come back for us (Undertow Publications)

Stephan G. Stephansson Award for Book of Poetry
(Sponsored by Stephan V. Benediktson)

  • Alice Major – Knife on Snow (Turnstone Press)

Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama

  • Josée Thibeault – La fille du facteur (Les Éditions du Blé)

James H. Gray Awards for Short Nonfiction
(Supported by Marilyn and Bob Stallworthy)

  • paulo da costa – The Stones that Anchor Us (Queens Quarterly)

Howard O’Hagan Short Story Award
(Supported by the Alexandra Writers’ Centre Society)

  • Astrid Blodgett – How to Read Water (University of Alberta Press)

Jon Whyte Memorial Unpublished Essay Award
(Supported by the Haynes Family – In Memory of Dr. Sterling Haynes)

  • Antoinette Bekker – The Sensibilities of Dogs

Our Thanks…

Shopping cart0
There are no products in the cart!