Close this search box.

2015 Alberta Literary Award Winners Announced


ab lit awards logoThe Writers’ Guild of Alberta is proud to announce the winners of this year’s Alberta Literary Awards, which were presented on May 23 during the Alberta Literary Awards Gala at the Chateau Lacombe.

The Alberta Literary Awards were created by the Writers’ Guild of Alberta in 1982 to recognize excellence in writing by Alberta authors. This year, jurors deliberated over 150 submissions to select 24 finalists in eight categories.

The Writers’ Guild of Alberta is the largest provincial writers’ organization in Canada, and was formed in 1980 to provide a meeting ground and collective voice for the writers of the province. Its mission is to inspire, connect, support, encourage, and promote writers and writing, to safeguard the freedom to write and to read, and to advocate for the well-being of writers.


Ross Annett Award for Children’s Literature (Supported by UTA Youth Foundation Fund at the Calgary Foundation)

Richard Van Camp (Edmonton) – Little You, Orca Book Publishers

Georges Bugnet Award for Fiction (Sponsored by The Banff Centre)

Rudy Wiebe (Edmonton) – Come Back, Knopf Canada

Wilfrid Eggleston Award for Nonfiction (Supported In Memory of Ed Marshall)

Ted Bishop (Edmonton) – The Social Life of Ink: Culture, Wonder, and Our Relationship with the Written Word, Viking Canada

Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama (Sponsored by Alberta Views)

Cheryl Foggo (Calgary) – John Ware Reimagined

Stephan G. Stephansson Award for Poetry (Sponsored by Stephan V. Benediktson)

Sarah Lang (Edmonton) – For Tamara, House of Anansi Press

James H. Gray Award for Short Nonfiction (Supported by Tony Johnson)

Chris Turner (Calgary) – “Owen’s Ark,” The Walrus

Howard O’Hagan Award for Short Story (Supported by Vanna Tessier and Guy Tessier)

Katie Bickell (Sherwood Park) – “But For the Streetlamps and the Moon and All the Stars,” Tahoma Literary Review

Jon Whyte Memorial Essay Award (Sponsored by Members of the Writers’ Guild of Alberta Board of Directors)

Kim McCullough (Calgary) – “Tributaries”

WGA Golden Pen Award for Lifetime Achievement (Supported by Aritha van Herk)

Betty Jane Hegerat



The Writers’ Guild of Alberta gratefully acknowledges the supporters and sponsors of our 2015 Alberta Literary Awards.


alberta_views_logo small        banff centre logo

Stephan V. Benediktson
Writers’ Guild of Alberta Board of Directors



  • In Memory of Ed Marshall
  • Tony Johnson
  • Vanna and Guy Tessier
  • UTA Youth Foundation Fund at the Calgary Foundation
  • Aritha van Herk
Shopping cart0
There are no products in the cart!