The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize Finalists

The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize

*Note: Prior to 2022, this prize was presented to a Calgary author of a book published in the previous year.  As such, the name of the prize corresponds with the previous year.  Eg. The award presented in 2011 is referred to the 2010 award.

In 2022, the prize numbering was changed to reflect the year in which the award was presented. What would have been named The 2021 City of Calgary Book Prize was renamed The 2022 City of Calgary Book Prize.


Julie Sedivy – Memory Speaks: On Losing and Reclaiming Language and Self (Harvard University Press)

Jaspreet Singh – My Mother, My Translator (Vehicule Press) (WINNER)

Neil Surkan – Unbecoming (McGill-Queen’s University Press)


Bertrand Bickersteth – The Response of Weeds: A Misplacement of Black Poetry on the Prairies (NeWest Press)

Will Ferguson – The Finder (Simon & Schuster)

Alexandra Latos – Under Shifting Stars (Raincoast Books) (WINNER)


Sharon Butala for her story collection, Season of Fury and Wonder, published by Coteau Books (2019) + Freehand Books (2020 edition) (WINNER)

Naomi K. Lewis for her memoir, Tiny Lights for Travellers,published by the University of Alberta Press; and

Teresa Wong for her graphic memoir Dear Scarlet: The Story of my Postpartum Depression,published by Arsenal Pulp Press


Pay No Heed to the Rockets, Marcello Di Cintio, Goose Lane Editions (WINNER)

The Tiger Flu, Larissa Lai, Arsenal Pulp Press

Tar Swan, David Martin, NeWest Press


Taylor Lambert, Darwin’s Moving, (NeWest Press) (WINNER)

Clem & Olivier Martini, The Unravelling, (Freehand Books)

Deborah Willis, The Dark and Other Love Stories, (Hamish Hamilton)


Joan Crate, Black Apple (Simon & Schuster) (WINNER)

Beth Everest, silent sister: the mastectomy poems (Frontenac House)

Richard Harrison, On Not Losing My Father’s Ashes in the Flood (Wolsak and Wynn)


Sharon Butala, Wild Rose, Coteau Books

Will Ferguson, Road Trip Rwanda: A Journey into the New Heart of Africa, Viking Canada (Penguin)

Eugene Stickland, The Piano Teacher, BHouse Publications (WINNER)


Marika Deliyannides, Bitter Lake,  Porqupine’s Quill

Joan Shillington, Folding the Wilderness Within, Frontenac House

Chris Turner, How to Breathe Underwater: Field Reports From an Age of Radical Change, Biblioasis (WINNER)


Glenn Dixon, Tripping the World Fantastic (Dundurn)

Juleta Severson-Baker, Incarnate (Frontenac House)

Tyler Trafford, Almost a Great Escape: A Found Story (Goose Lane Editions) (WINNER)


Theanna Bischoff, Swallow (NeWest Press)

Marcello Di Cintio, Walls: Travels Along the Barricades (Goose Lane Editions) (WINNER)

Andrew Nikiforuk, The Energy of Slaves: Oil and the New Solitude (Greystone Books)


Betty Jane Hegerat, The Boy (Oolichan Books)

Suzette Mayr, Monoceros (Coach House Books) (WINNER)

Cathy Ostlere, Karma (Puffin Canada)


Derek Beaulieu, How to Write (Talon Books)

Weyman Chan, Hypoderm (Talon Books)

Clem Martini and Olivier Martini, Bitter Medicine: A Graphic Memoir of Mental Illness (Freehand Books) (WINNER)


Gordon Pengilly, Metastasis and Other Plays (NeWest Press) (WINNER)

Carolyn Pogue, Gwen (Sumach Press)

Bob Stallworthy, Things That Matter Now (Frontenac House)


Weyman Chan, Noise from the Laundry (Talonbooks)

Andrew Nikiforuk, Tar Sands: Dirty Oil and the Future of a Continent (Greystone Books) (WINNER)

Jaspreet Singh, Chef (Véhicule Press)


Glen Dresser, Correction Road (Oberon Press)

Diane Guichon, Birch Split Bark (Nightwood Editions) (WINNER)

Roberta Rees, Long After Fathers (Coteau Books)


Rona Altrows, A Run on Hose (Thistledown Press) (WINNER)

Nancy Jo Cullen, Pearl (Frontenac House)

Marcello di Cintio, Poets and Pahlevans (Knopf Canada)


David Albahari, Snow Man (Douglas & McIntyre)

Gordon Cope, A Paris Moment (Fifth House)

Christopher Wiseman, In John Updike’s Room (Porcupine’s Quill) (WINNER)


W. Paul Anderson, Hunger’s Brides (Random House Canada)

Jan Lars Jensen, Nervous System (Raincoast Books) (WINNER)

Bob Stallworthy, Optics (Frontenac House)


W. Mark Giles, Knucklehead (and other stories) (Anvil Press) (WINNER)

Robert Hilles,Wrapped Within Again: Poems New and Selected (Black Moss Press)

Susan Ouriou, Damselfish (XYZ Publishing)


Paulo da Costa, Scent of a Lie (Ekstasis Editions) (WINNER)

Larissa Lai, Salt Fish Girl (Thomas Allen Publishers)

Rajinderpal S. Pal, Pulse (Arsenal Pulp Press)


Hiromi Goto, The Kappa Child (Red Deer Press)

Ken McGoogan, Fatal Passage (HarperCollins)

Andrew Nikiforuk, Saboteurs (Macfarlane, Walter & Ross) (WINNER)


Bruce Kirkby, Sand Dance (McClelland & Stewart)

JoAnn McCaig, The Textbook of the Rose: A Tale (Cormorant Books) (WINNER)

Ken Rivard, Skin Tests (Black Moss Press)

Fred Stenson, The Trade (Douglas & McIntyre)


Sarah Carter, Aboriginal People & Colonizers of Western Canada to 1900 (University of Toronto Press)

George Melnyk, New Moon at Batoche (Banff Centre Press)

Peter Oliva, The City of Yes (Emblem Editions)

Barbara Scott, The Quick (Cormorant Books) (WINNER)

Catherine Simmons Niven, A Fine Daughter (Red Deer Press)

George Wing, Hector’s War (Coteau Books)


Richard Harrison, Big Breath of a Wish (Wolsak and Wynn Publishers) (WINNER)

Ashok Mathur, Once Upon an Elephant (Arsenal Pulp Press)

Anne Petric, Gone to an Aunt’s (McClelland & Stewart)

Aritha van Herk, Restlessness (Red Deer Press)


Elspeth Cameron, No Previous Experience (Viking Books) (WINNER)


Lisa Christensen, A Hiker’s Guide to the Art of the Canadian Rockies (Fifth House) (WINNER)

Robert Hillies, Kissing the Smoke (Black Moss Press)

Ken McGoogan, Kerouac’s Ghost (Robert Davis Publishing)

Fred Wah, Diamond Grill (NeWest Press)

Shopping cart0
There are no products in the cart!