Close this search box.

2020 Alberta Literary Awards and City of Edmonton Book Prize Finalists Announced

The Writers’ Guild of Alberta is excited to announce the finalists for the 2020 Alberta Literary Awards and Robert Kroetsch City of Edmonton Book Prize. Each year, the Alberta Literary Awards and the City of Edmonton recognize and celebrate the highest standards of literary excellence from Alberta and Edmonton authors.

The WGA would like to send our congratulations to those whose work is among this year’s Alberta Literary Awards finalists! We look forward to celebrating your creativity and hard work, and we will do all we can to spread the word about the wonderful writing you did in 2019. Updates on this year’s awards presentation format will be posted to our website and social media as soon as they are finalized.

Our juries deliberated on more than 200 submissions to select the following 27 finalists in nine categories. Finalists represent excellence in literary work written by Alberta authors and published or created in 2019. We encourage you to check out these fantastic titles!

Click HERE to read bios for this year’s finalists.

The 2020 Alberta Literary Awards Finalists

R. Ross Annett Award for Children’s Literature (Chapter Books)

James H. Gray Award for Short Nonfiction

  • Paulo da Costa (Calgary) — “Learning to Shave, Learning to Leave” (The Fiddlehead)
  • Jennifer Bowering Delisle (Edmonton) — “Abracadabra” (The Forge)
  • Omar Mouallem (Edmonton) — “Billionaires, Bombers, and Bellydancers” (The Ringer)

Howard O’Hagan Award for Short Story

Stephan G. Stephansson Award for Poetry

  • Billy-Ray Belcourt (Edmonton)NDN Coping Mechanisms (House of Anansi Press)
  • Monica Kidd (Calgary)Chance Encounters with Wild Animals (Gaspereau Press)
  • Peter Midgley (Edmonton)Let Us Not Think of Them as Barbarians (NeWest Press)

Jon Whyte Memorial Essay Award

  • Jennifer Bowering Delisle (Edmonton) — “Premature Burial”
  • Rayanne Haines (Edmonton) — “This Is Normal”
  • Julie Sedivy (Calgary) — “Telescoping”

Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama

  • Tara Beagan (Calgary) Honour Beat
  • Elena Belyea (Edmonton)Smoke
  • Christopher Duthie (Calgary)A Dinner Party

Wilfrid Eggleston Award for Nonfiction

Georges Bugnet Award for Fiction

The 2020 Robert Kroetsch City of Edmonton Book Prize Shortlist

With Gratitude

The Writers’ Guild of Alberta gratefully acknowledges the supporters and sponsors of our 2020 Alberta Literary Awards:



And thanks also to the sponsors of the Robert Kroetsch City of Edmonton Book Prize:

Shopping cart0
There are no products in the cart!