Close this search box.


Wednesday, April 26, 7:00 pm
Audreys Books, 10702 Jasper Avenue

We invite you to join us for the 2017 Robert Kroetsch City of Edmonton Book Prize Shortlist Reading. Audreys Books and the Writers’ Guild of Alberta host a special night of readings by the shortlisted authors for 2017.

The Robert Kroetsch City of Edmonton Book Prize was established by the City Council in 1995 and is administered by the Writers’ Guild of Alberta.  Entries must deal with some aspect of the city of Edmonton: history, geography, current affairs, its arts or its people or be written by an Edmonton author. Entries may be fiction, non-fiction, poetry or drama written for adults or children, published in the preceding year. The winning author will receive a prize of $10,000. The prize is sponsored by Audreys Books and the Edmonton Arts Council.

The nominees for the 2017 Robert Kroetsch City of Edmonton Book Prize are:

Lauralyn Chow was born and raised in Edmonton. She received a B.A. and an LL.B. from the University of Alberta.  Edmonton is the setting for many of the interconnected stories in her book, Paper Teeth. Lauralyn divides her time between Edmonton and Calgary.

Katherine Koller writes for stage, screen and page. Her trilogy of Alberta Landworks plays includes Last Chance Leduc, The Seed Savers and Coal Valley. A six-part web documentary, Sustainable Me, features Edmonton youth changing their world. Katherine’s short fiction has appeared in Alberta Views, Room, Epiphany and Grain. Art Lessons is her first novel.

Trent Portigal is a writer of political tales and urban anecdotes. He has an eclectic background in philosophy, Francophone literatures and urban planning. He has called Edmonton home since 2008. A Floating Phrase is his second novel.

The 2017 winner of the Robert Kroetsch City of Edmonton Book Prize will be announced at the Mayor’s Celebration of the Arts on May 1.

Shopping cart0
There are no products in the cart!