Close this search box.

Henry Kreisel Award for Best First Book Finalists

Henry Kreisel Award for Best First Book Finalists


Audrey Andrews, Be Good Sweet Maid (Wilfrid Laurier University Press)

Catherine Simmons Niven, A Fine Daughter (Red Deer Press) (WINNER)

Barbara Scott, The Quick (Cormorant Books)


Jacqueline Bell, burning for it (Rowan Books)

Jackie Flanagan, Grass Castles (Bayeux Arts)

Linda Goyette, Second Opinion (Rowan Books)

Mary Elizabeth Lauzon, The Kisses of His Mouth (New Leaf Works)

Rajinderpal Pal, Pappaji wrote poetry in a language I cannot read (Tsar Publications) (WINNER)


Curtis Gillespie, The Progress of an Object in Motion (Coteau Books) (WINNER)

Valerie Haig-Brown, Deep Currents (Orca Book Publishers)

lorie miseck, The blue not seen (The Books Collective)

Margie Taylor, Some of Skippy’s Blues (Robert Davies Multimedia Publishing)


Lisa Christensen, A Hiker’s Guide to Art of the Canadian Rockies (Glenbow) (WINNER)

Harvey Deutschendorf, Of Work & Men (Fairview Press)

Fiona Nelson, Lesbian Motherhood: An Exploration of Canadian Lesbian Families (University of Toronto Press)

J. Pecover, The Work of Justice (Wolf Willow Press)


Gail Helgason, Fracture Patterns (Press Gang Publishers)

Suzette Mayr, Moon Honey (NeWest Press)

Thomas Wharton, Icefields (NeWest Press) (WINNER)


Nicole Markotic, Connect the Dots (Wolsak and Wynn)

Jan Mather, Designing Alberta Gardens (Red Deer College Press)

Stacy Schiff, Saint-Exupery (Random House) (WINNER)


Peter Oliva, Drowning in Darkness (Cormorant Books) (WINNER)

Marilynn Reynolds, Belle’s Journey (Orca Book Publishers

Martin Sherman, Elephant Hook and Other Stories (NeWest Press)

Shopping cart0
There are no products in the cart!