The Robert Kroetsch City of Edmonton Book Prize Past Finalists

The Robert Kroetsch City of Edmonton Book Prize


Glen Huser – Burning the Night (NeWest Press) (WINNER)

Premee Mohamed – The Annual Migration of Clouds (ECW Press)

Trina Moyles – Lookout: Love, Solitude, and Searching for Wildfire in the Boreal Forest (Random House Canada)


Tyler Enfield – Like Rum-Drunk Angels (Goose Lane Editions) (WINNER)

Beth Sanders – Nest City: How Citizens Serve Cities and Cities Serve Citizens (POPULUS Community Planning Inc.)

Anne Wheeler – Taken by the Muse: On the Path to Becoming a Filmmaker (NeWest Press)


Billy-Ray Belcourt — NDN Coping Mechanisms: Notes From the Field (House of Anansi)

Marina Endicott — The Difference (Knopf Canada, Penguin Random House) (WINNER)

Audrey J. Whitson — The Death of Annie the Water Witcher by Lightning (NeWest Press)


Carissa Halton – Little Yellow House, University of Alberta Press

Alice Major – Welcome to the Anthropocene, University of Alberta Press

Kelly Shepherd – Insomnia Bird, Thistledown Press (WINNER)


Billy-Ray Belcourt, This Wound is a World (Frontenac House) (WINNER)

Norma Dunning, Annie Muktuk and other stories (University of Alberta Press)

Lisa Martin, Believing is not the same as Being Saved (University of Alberta Press)


Lauralyn Chow, Paper Teeth, NeWest Press (WINNER)

Katherine Koller, Art Lessons, Enfield & Wizenty

Trent Portigal, A Floating Phrase, Roundfire Books


Tyler Enfield, Madder Carmine, Enfield & Wizenty

Peter Midgley, Unquiet Bones, Wolsak & Wynn

Richard Van Camp, Night Moves, Enfield & Wizenty (WINNER)


Greg Bechtel, Boundary Problems, Freehand Books

Tim Bowling, Circa Nineteen Hundred and Grief, Gaspereau Press

Rudy Wiebe, Come Back, Penguin Random House Canada (WINNER)


Tim Bowling, Selected Poems (Nightwood Editions) (WINNER)

Nellie Carlson and Kathleen Steinhauer (as told to Linda Goyette), Disinherited Generations: Our Struggle to Reclaim Treaty Rights for First Nations Women and Their Descendants (University of Alberta Press)

Lynn Coady, Hellgoing (House of Anansi Press)


Tim Bowling, The Tinsmith (Brindle and Glass)

Catherine Cole, GWG: Piece by Piece (Goose Lane Editions)

Nora Gould, I see my love more clearly from a distance (Brick Books) (WINNER)


Dawn Dumont, Nobody Cries at Bingo (Thistledown Press)

Wendy McGrath, Santa Rosa (NeWest Press)

Judy Schultz, Freddy’s War (Brindle & Glass Publishing Ltd.) (WINNER)


Tim Bowling, In the Suicide’s Library (Gaspereau Press)

Myrna Kostash, Prodigal Daughter: A Journey to Byzantium (University of Alberta Press) (WINNER)

Rudy Wiebe, Rudy Wiebe: Collected Stories, 1955 – 2010 (University of Alberta Press)


Pierrette Requier, details from the edge of the village (Frontenac House)

Ed Struzik, The Big Thaw: Travels in the Melting North (John Wiley & Sons Canada Ltd.)

Thomas Trofimuk, Waiting for Columbus (McClelland & Stewart) (WINNER)


Jack W. Brink, Imagining Head-Smashed-In: Aboriginal Buffalo Hunting on the Northern Plains (Athabasca University Press) (WINNER)

Caterina Edwards, Finding Rosa: A Mother with  Alzheimer’s, a Daughter in Search of the Past(Greystone Books)

Alice Major, The Office Tower Tales (University of Alberta Press)


Bert Almon, A Ghost in Waterloo Station (Brindle & Glass) (WINNER)

Tim Bowling, The Bone Sharps (Gaspereau Press)

Mieko Ouchi, Mieko Ouchi: Two Plays (Playwrights Canada Press)


Todd Babiak, The Garneau Block (McClelland & Stewart) (WINNER)

Vern Thiessen, The Courier and Other Plays (Playwrights Canada Press)

Rudy Wiebe, Of This Earth (Vintage)


Ted Bishop, Riding with Rilke: Reflections on Motorcycles and Books (Penguin Group) (WINNER)

E.D. Blodgett, Elegy (University of Alberta Press)

Brock Silversides, Fort de Prairies: The Story of Ft. Edmonton (Heritage House)


Tim Bowling, Memory Orchard (Brick Books)

Marty Chan, The Mystery of the Frozen Brains (Thistledown Press) (WINNER)

Greg Hollingshead, Bedlam (HarperCollins Canada)


Jacqueline Baker, A Hard Witching (HarperCollins) (WINNER)

Tim Bowling,The Paperboy’s Winter (Penguin)

Fil Fraser, Alberta’s Camelot (Lone Pine Publishing)


Monica Hughes, The Maze (HarperCollins Canada)

Lorie Miseck, A Promise of Salt (Coteau Books)

Thomas Trofimuk, The 52nd Poem (Great Plains Publications) (WINNER)


Tim Bowling, Darkness and Silence (Nightwood Editions)

Gloria Sawai, A Song for Nettie Johnson (Coteau Books) (WINNER)

Rudy Wiebe, Sweeter than All the World (Knopf Canada)


Tim Bowling, The Thin Smoke of the Heart (McGill-Queen’s University Press)

Shirley Serviss, Reading Between the Lines (Coteau Books)

Fred Stenson, The Trade (Douglas & McIntyre) (WINNER)

Uriel Rosenweig, The First Century of Jewish Life in Edmonton


Alice Major, Tales for an Urban Sky (Broken Jaw Press)

Srdja Pavlovic (ed.), Threshold: An Anthology of Contemporary Writing from Alberta (University of Alberta Press)

Alla Tumanov, Where We Buried the Sun (NeWest Press) (WINNER)


Glen Huser, Touch of the Clown (House of Anansi)

Sally Ito, Floating Shore (Mercury Press)

Alice Major, Lattice of the Years (Bayeaux Arts)

Rudy Wiebe and Yvonne Johnson, Stolen Life (Alfred A. Knopf Canada) (WINNER)


David Carpenter, Banjo Lessons (Coteau Books) (WINNER)


Shirley Graham, Milner Fenerty: The Story of a Law Firm

Stroll of Poets Society, Stroll of Poets Anthology

F. Royer and R. Dickinson, Wildflowers of Edmonton and Central Alberta (University of Alberta Press) (WINNER)

Ethel-Marie Burford, Pilgrim Woman Her Life

E. Stewart Bishop, Love is Always with Us

Vanna Tessier, Gypsy Drums (Snowapple Press)


Bob Hesketh and Frances Swyripa (ed.), Edmonton: The Life of a City (NeWest Press) (WINNER)

Shopping cart0
There are no products in the cart!