Nominate an Artist for the AFA’s 25 Influential Alberta Artists

As part of their 25th Anniversary celebrations, the Alberta Foundation for the Arts (AFA) is seeking your nominations to identify 25 Albertan artists who have made significant impacts to the development and evolution of our province’s arts community over the past 25 years. They are collecting artist nominations from now until June 30, 2016. The 25 selected […]

WordsWorth 2016

That’s right. No fooling. WordsWorth 2016 is starting this weekend!  Visit the registration form to get started or the payment page if you would like to secure a spot, but need more time with the form. If you would like to pay in installments, please call us at 780.422.8174. Week 2 is now sold out. To be added to […]

2016 Alberta Literary Award Winners Announced

The Writers’ Guild of Alberta is pleased to reveal the winners of the 2016 Alberta Literary Awards. More than 120 attended the 2016 Alberta Literary Awards Wine and Cheese Gala, part of the Writers’ Guild of Alberta’s 2016 Calgary Conference, Creativity and Happiness. This celebration marked the 34th anniversary of the Alberta Literary Awards and brought together writers […]

2016 WGA Golden Pen Award Recipient

Supported by Aritha van Herk The WGA Golden Pen Award is presented to acknowledge the lifetime achievements of an outstanding Alberta writer. Past recipients have been Alice Major, George Melnyk, Fred Stenson, Aritha van Herk, Robert Kroetsch, Merna Summers, Myrna Kostash, Grant MacEwan, W.O. Mitchell, Rudy Wiebe and Betty Jane Hegerat. This year’s recipient is Greg Hollingshead. Greg Hollingshead has published […]

WGA Office Closure – Friday, June 3

  The WGA office will not be open this Friday and Saturday (June 3 & 4) to take phone-in Conference or Gala registrations; however the online registration system will remain open. Any cancellations or changes to registrations can be emailed to Giorgia at [email protected].

David Whyte Photography

  The following photographs were taken by David during the Creative Nonfiction Collective Annual Conference. (Photos reproduced with permission from David Whyte.)

In Memory of Frances Hern

  Friends of Frances The WGA would like to express our sincere gratitude to the Friends of Frances, who are supporting the 2016 Jon Whyte Memorial Essay Award in memory of long-standing WGA member, Frances Hern. Frances passed away last September at the age of 64. She leaves behind a literary legacy that spans nonfiction, fiction, and poetry, including Engraved: […]

WGA Annual Conference – Creativity and Happiness 2016

Conference Schedule   Welcome to the annual conference of the Writers’ Guild of Alberta! Save money on the full conference pass, or choose to attend individual events. This year’s conference will take place in Calgary in Heritage Hall at SAIT. (Out of town guests can reserve a room at SAIT, details below.) See you there! Conference […]

The 2016 Alberta Literary Awards Shortlist

The Writers’ Guild of Alberta is thrilled to announce the finalists for the 2016 Alberta Literary Awards! Each year, the Alberta Literary Awards recognize and celebrate the highest standards of literary excellence from Alberta authors. Winners will be announced and awards presented at the Alberta Literary Awards Gala on June 4, 2016 in MacDonald Hall at SAIT […]